Deleting or updating a GitHub or GitLab release leaves the Git tag, which must also be deleted to reissue a corrected release.
delete the Git tag locally. Here we assume the release tag was
git tag -d v1.2.3
delete the Git tag on remote site
git push -d origin v1.2.3
This puts the release notes from v1.2.3 into “draft” mode–hidden from the public.
Make the necessary changes, then do the release again, reusing the draft release notes.